Playlists

One of the frustrations of owning a Cambridge Audio Stream Magic has been the inability to create playlists. (I must say immediately that the pleasures of ownership on the musical front outweigh any frustrations.) I was on the look out for a piece of software that could – if not capture the playlist or queue from the Stream Magic – at least allow me to create playlists offline. Which is when I met Clementine.

Clementine is a free multiplatform music player and library organiser. Instead of the usual ransom-ware or PayPal requests there is an extraordinary statement on the website: “Currently, we do not need money and as so we do not accept money donation. If you like our software and want to help us, you can support us and spread the word.” They go onto suggest three charities that need the money more. BRAVO!

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 09.43.13.jpg

I now use Clementine to listen to NAS drive tracks on my iMac at night without waking either my hi-fi systems or my wife. I can also fine-tune any metadata entries I’ve screwed up when ripping and initially editing tracks. The screen grab above shows what has become the most addictive feature – ’50 random track’ playlists. With my catholic taste in music (no big band, no C&W but everything else) this is a hoot. ‘Least favourite tracks’ is an ear-opener too.

Generate a playlist in Clementine – it can export in various formats but I use .m3u for editing convenience. To use this on the CA Stream Magic a little editing is required in TextEdit and then popping the file in the appropriate folder on the NAS drive before serving it to the streamer.

Get the tracks together in Clementine and Save the playlist from the Playlist > Save Playlist Menu… (in M3U playlist format). Open this in TextEdit and you’ll see a bunch of entries:

#EXTM3U
#EXTINF:403,Anima Eterna Brugge/Jos van Immerseel – Symphony No.40 in G minor, K550 – I. Allegro molto
/Volumes/Recordings/CLASSICAL/MOZART, Wolfgang Amadeus/Symphonies, Concertos, Sonatas – Midori, van Imerseel, Anima Eterna Brugge/CD1 – Symphonies Nos.39 & 40/01-05 – Mozart – Symphonies_ Concertos_ Sonatas – CD1 – Symphony No.40 in G minor_ K550 – I. Allegro molto – Anima Eterna Brugge_Jos van Immerseel.flac

I’ve emboldened the bit you’re interested in – this is the path for Clementine to find the track on my mounted NAS drive partition, which I’ve called Recordings. This path needs to be changed for the streamer to find the track from its point of view. It’s a very simple edit to make. In TextEdit I search and replace /Volumes/ with /share/ which is how the streamer ‘sees’ the NAS drive. So the full path to the playable flac file above will now read:

/share/Recordings/CLASSICAL/MOZART, Wolfgang Amadeus/Symphonies, Concertos, Sonatas – Midori, van Imerseel, Anima Eterna Brugge/CD1 – Symphonies Nos.39 & 40/01-05 – Mozart – Symphonies_ Concertos_ Sonatas – CD1 – Symphony No.40 in G minor_ K550 – I. Allegro molto – Anima Eterna Brugge_Jos van Immerseel.flac

Save the editied file as a text file and put it in the PLAYLISTS folder in the mulitmedia folder – mine’s the ‘Recordings’ folder. Refresh or rescan your media server and you’ve a Playlist available.

One thought on “Playlists

Leave a Reply

